Kettle at the East Wing

Yahallo! Today, I’ll be reviewing the infamous instant hit, Kettle. Kettle has definitely become one of my favorite comfort food restaurants. So many people love Kettle, and they will always come back. To prove my point, I have eaten at Kettle 3 times before posting this, and every time I pass by, it’s always jam-packed full! Never have I ever seen Kettle with an empty table. And I’m pretty confident that I’ve passed by the restaurant more than 20 times. But do not be discouraged, the restaurant is compact with lots of tables and efficient staff. Everything was served hot quickly while clean-up and bills came fast. Kettle has grown so much that it has expanded to another restaurant names, Fireside by Kettle located at the Fashion Hall of SM Megamall. 

  
  

Calamari, P329

The calamari was slightly chewy for my taste, but the dipping sauce it came with was complimented the plain batter very well. It was thinner than most calamari sauces, but not runny. It wasn’t just the usual mayonnaise and sour cream, it was incorporated with siraccha (sauce used in buffalo wings). I loved the idea.  

French Onion Soup, P239

 (Photo above one serving split into two.) Honestly, I found it a little bit too salty and oily. (Oil can be seen even in the picture.) Nonetheless, it was still pretty good, and I liked how the onions wilted down into a nice soft texture.

US Angus Short Ribs, P469

I found the marinade of the short ribs slightly overpowering. I would have preferred it to be just a little diluted with more sauce. The mashed potato was seasoned well but I think it would be better with a splash of milk. Not Kettle’s best, but it is something I wouldn’t mind ordering. 

Buttermilk Fried Chicken, P519

 This is what Kettle is best known for, their Buttermilk Fried Chicken. This is the best buttermilk fried chicken you will find around. Everything is absolutely flawless. It was crunchy, well spiced and sided by savory gravy and freshly baked corn bread. It is the ultimate comfort food. It may look expensive with a price of P519, but you are getting 3 large pieces of chicken and 3 large cornbread squares. YOU CANNOT GO TO KETTLE WITHOUT ORDERING THIS.

Miso Glazed Salmon, P559

 I would call this the perfect combination. The whole dish is very light, yet fulfilling. The fresh mangos also with the mild soy salmon is amazing. A part of me felt like the soba noddles were unneeded and could have been replaced with another carbohydrate, but it really went well with the light and exotic theme. 

Rosemary Garlic Chicken,P439

 The chicken was super, super, super tender. Personally, I would have liked a stronger rosemary flavor rather than a fragrance but, it still worked. The chicken was well seasoned, but I think I would have enjoyed it more if the potatoes had more salt and roasted further. The whole dish was still great though.

Australian Lamb Adobo, P449

This dish really revamps the whole adobo phase into a much higher level. Lamb is a really tough one to cook, and for Kettle to get it this soft, is astounding. Forget knives, this could shrewd with just two spoons. The adobo was leaning towards the sweeter side, with less vinegar, but I didn’t mind at all. It still gave that homey adobo feel. The whole hearty meal became ten times better with the truffle infused rice. From a simple everyday home dish to a luxurious hearty meal. 
Kettle is a very satisfying restaurant. In my three visits, everything was kept consistent and up to standard. Eating here feels very rewarding and filling. If you find it pricey, they give generous servings that could easily fill two people. 
5th floor, East Wing (near Green Pastures and escalator)

Shangri-La Plaza Mall, Shaw Blvd

Wack Wack, Mandaluyong City
Thanks for reading! Farewell and Stay Frosting!

 

2 thoughts on “Kettle at the East Wing

Leave a Reply

